Back

Linux

Blog's Thoughts Illustration Image

People mistakenly imagine that Linux is a very difficult "system" to be used, especially for the lay user, or for those who have never used a computer in their lives. But, in fact, there are distributions ("variations") of Linux that are aimed at the lay user (such as Ubuntu or Linux Mint), as well as distributions aimed at more advanced users (such as Arch or Gentoo). In my experience, and reading reports from people around the world, I find that Linux is easier and more convenient to use than other operating systems.

Linux is a free and open source technology that can be installed on essentially any computing system, whether desktops, laptops, cell phones, servers, etc. Linux is everywhere, including services that we all use, like those popularly called "cloud".

I've been using Linux since 2011, and recently I'm just using it on my desktop, and I don't regret my decision. I am more productive and satisfied with my computer. Anyone can use Linux, as long as they are willing to learn, of course (as is done with other operating systems). It is excellent for programming and using daily, even on very old machines! Just needs commitment! Just as most people got used to using Windows over time, it's the same for Linux: with use, people learn and get used to this technology.